TPP Countries Forging on With or Without U.S.

Dan Industry News Release, Trade

countries trade
At least six countries included in the Trans-Pacific Partnership aim to complete the trade deal with or without the United States. Reuters reports Mexico, Japan, Australia, Malaysia, New Zealand and Singapore are all pledging to continue forward with TPP if the United States does not. The six nations are among 12 signatories of the trade deal, which currently cannot take effect without being ratified by the United States. President-elect Donald Trump condemned the deal on the campaign trail, leaving its fate dim. However, Mexico’s Economy Minister recently said: “We determined that our countries will press ahead with this agreement independently of what Washington decides.” The trade deal could be implemented without the U.S. if it meets strict GDP requirements.

From the National Association of Farm Broadcasting news service.