Fresno State Unveils New Jordan College Honors Program for Ag Students

Taylor Hillman General

The inaugural class of the new Fresno State Jordan College of Agricultural Sciences and Technology Upper Division Honors Program will begin the spring semester this week with 15 students.

The new program was created to provide scholarly, creative and motivated agricultural majors an enhanced educational experience with advanced study and engagement with select Jordan College faculty, said program director Kathie Reid-Bevington, Jordan College interim associate dean.

“We’re excited to welcome a group of talented students that have especially bright futures,” Reid-Bevington said. “They have impressive academic resumes and they’re active in the community.”

The 10 initial honors program students are all Fresno State juniors:
• Lindsey Anderson of Escalon (Ag Business)
• Teighlor Baugher of Bakersfield (Ag Education-Animal Science)
• Devin Brittain of San Jose (Food and Nutritional Sciences, Dietetics)
• Danika Brumbeloe of Fresno (Fashion Merchandise)
• Carolyn Chase of Fresno (Food and Nutritional Sciences, Culinology)
• Salvador Mariscal of Modesto (Ag Business)
• Christina Martinez of Porterville (Child Development)
• Kelsie Raulino of Lemoore (Ag Business)
• Hannah Rocha of Tulare (Ag Business)
• Andreina Torres of Fresno (Family Science)

This spring the students will take three honors seminars and develop an honors project with a faculty mentor. During their senior year they will participate in additional three spring-semester honors colloquiums and present their completed project to students, faculty and the campus community.

“The Jordan College faculty members look forward to partnering with these honors students in their specialized interests,” Reid-Bevington said. “We know that their enthusiasm will lay a strong foundation for the program.”

Honors students will receive incentives such as priority registration, extended borrowing time for library materials and special recognition at commencement.
The students were selected from among a group of applicants by the Jordan Council Honors Council, a 10-person group composed of two honors students, Dr. Sandra Witte, interim dean of the Jordan College, and Jordan College faculty members representing each academic departments.

The faculty representatives are Dr. Patrick Berends, Agricultural Business; Dr. Steve Rocca, Animal Sciences and Agricultural Education; Dr. Kathie Reid, Child, Family and Consumer Sciences; Dr. Erin Dormedy, Food Science and Nutrition; Dr. Arun Nambiar, Industrial Technology; Dr. John Bushoven, Plant Science; and Dr. Sonet van Zyl, Viticulture and Enology.