Voice of Corn Farmers Amplified at NAFB

Dan Corn, Industry News Release

NCGA-Logo corn
If you are hearing a lot of news and information from the National Corn Growers Association on your local radio station this week, it is no accident. The 73rd National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB) Convention wrapped up this weekend where more than 650 attendees gathered, including hundreds of farm broadcasters.

“NCGA is a long-time participant in this convention and the Trade Talk event, specifically, because of the media contacts and relationships we build,” said Wesley Spurlock, a farmer from Stratford, Texas, and NCGA President. “Farm families listen to their local broadcaster, so this event also provides us an opportunity to discuss NCGA’s priorities with our members.”

Spurlock was joined by Kevin Skunes, a farmer from Arthur, North Dakota, and NCGA First Vice President; Chris Novak, NCGA CEO; and Jon Doggett, NCGA Executive Vice President for the annual Trade Talk event, which is the centerpiece of the NAFB National Convention. It connects the ag industry with member broadcasters to discuss issues and topics important to their organizations, associations and companies.

NCGA would also like to congratulate farm broadcasters honored during the event, including NAFB Hall of Fame inductees: Both Bob Bosold, WAXX/WAYY Radio, Wisconsin; and Lynn Ketelsen, Linder Farm Network; and 2016 Farm Broadcaster of the Year: Susan Littlefield, KRVN/Rural Radio Network. Sara Wyant, Agri-Pulse, was also honored with the 2016 Dix Harper Meritorious Service Award.

A new leadership team was also elected during the event which includes the following 2017 NAFB Board of Directors:

President: Max Armstrong, WGN Radio and Penton Agriculture
President Elect: Tom Cassidy, Ag Radio Network, Inc.
Vice President: Lorrie Boyer, KSIR Radio