Vilsack Announces Sorghum Board Appointments

Dan Grain, Industry News Release

sorghum board
Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced the appointment of four members to serve on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board.  Members will serve three-year terms.

Producers appointed to the board are:  Clayton J. Short, Assaria, Kan.; Martin G. Kerschen, Garden Plain, Kan.; Kent L. Martin, Carmen, Okla.; and Daniel L. Krienke, Perryton, Texas.

The board is structured so that the state with the largest production is allocated five positions.  The state with the second largest production is allocated three positions.  The state with the third largest production is allocated one position.  There are four at-large national positions for which at least two representatives must be appointed from states other than the top three sorghum producing states.  The maximum number of producers from one state is limited to six.

The board is authorized by the Commodity Promotion, Research, and Information Act of 1996.  The Secretary selected the appointees from sorghum producers nominated by certified sorghum producer organizations.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards. They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity for participating stakeholders.