Santa Cruz County Farm Bureau to Receive “County of the Year” Honor

Taylor HillmanGeneral

Santa Cruz Farm Bureau
The Santa Cruz County Farm Bureau has been informed that it will receive the “County of the Year” award at the California Farm Bureau 97th Annual Meeting in Reno, Nev. this December.

It will also receive five County Activities of Excellence Awards in the categories of Membership, Policy Implementation, Leadership, Ag Education and Public Relations.  The county also is a finalist in the “Innovator Award Contest” for its involvement with the Down to Earth Women Luncheon (photo of event attached).

A local delegation of five will be attending the California Farm Bureau Federation’s 97th Annual Meeting in Reno, December 5-9.  The official delegates representing the Santa Cruz County Farm Bureau are David Van Lennep, president and Thomas Broz, 1st vice-president.  The alternate delegates will be past Farm Bureau Presidents Cynthia Mathiesen and Nita Gizdich.

Also attending from Santa Cruz County will be Santa Cruz County Farm Bureau Executive Director Jess Brown.

“We are very honored to receive the ‘County of the Year’ award,” said David Van Lennep, Farm Bureau President. He further stated, “The Annual Meeting is a great opportunity for Farm Bureau members throughout the state to discuss mutual issues that affect farming.  It is also an opportunity to meet, make new friends while preparing our organization for the legislative issues that lie ahead in 2016.”  There are 53 County Farm Bureaus in California.