perdue milk

Perdue Announces National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board Appointments

Dan Dairy & Livestock, Industry News Release

perdue milkAgriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue announced the appointment of six members to serve on the National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board. The terms for these appointees are effective immediately and expire on June 30, 2020.

Newly appointed members are:

  • Randell W. Eronimous, Seattle, Wash. (Region 13)
  • Erin S. Sharp, Cincinnati, Ohio (At-large, processor)

Reappointed members are:

  • Lynne M. Bohan, Lynnfield, Mass. (Region 2)
  • Jeffrey D. Stephens, Lakeland, Fla. (Region 5)
  • Edward L. Mullins, Carlinville, Ill. (Region 11)
  • Evan L. Rainwater, Boise, Idaho (Region 14)

“These appointees represent a cross section of the fluid milk processing industry and I know the dairy industry will be well served by them,” said Perdue.

The National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board is composed of 15 fluid milk processors from 15 geographic regions and five at-large members. At least three at-large members must be fluid milk processors and at least one must be from the general public. The board was established by the Fluid Milk Promotion Act of 1990 to develop and administer a coordinated program of advertising and promotion to increase the demand for fluid milk products.

The National Fluid Milk Program is financed by a mandatory 20-cent per hundredweight assessment on all fluid milk processed and marketed commercially in consumer-type packages in the contiguous 48 states and the District of Columbia. Processors who commercially process and market three million pounds or less per month, excluding those fluid milk products delivered to the residence of a consumer, are exempt from assessments.

More information about the board is available on the National Fluid Milk Processor Promotion Board page on the AMS website, including a link to the board’s membership under the heading Organizational Structure.