National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods

Taylor HillmanGeneral

Food pyramid
Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack today announced the appointment of members to the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods (NACMCF) for the 2015-2017 term.

Established in 1988 by USDA (Food Safety and Inspection Service), the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (Food and Drug Administration and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention), the Department of Commerce (National Marine Fisheries Service), and the U.S. Department of Defense, NACMCF provides scientific advice on public health issues related to the safety and wholesomeness of the U.S. food supply. The committee assists in the development of microbiological criteria. In addition, it reviews and evaluates epidemiological and risk assessment data and methodologies for assessing microbiological hazards.

“NACMCF members offer invaluable insights on food safety issues,” said Secretary Vilsack. “These individuals will be instrumental in protecting our nation’s food supply.”

Newly appointed NACMCF members are: Dr. Gary Acuff, Texas A&M University; Ms. Vanessa Coffman, Consumer Representative; Dr. Peter Feng, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration; Dr. Scott Hanna, U.S. Department of Defense; Dr. Carolyn Hovde, University of Idaho; Dr. Bala Kottapalli, ConAgra Foods Inc.; Dr. Margie Lee, University of Georgia; Dr. Tiffiani Onifade, Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services; Dr. Laurie Post, Mars Global Chocolate; and Dr. John Ruby, JBS USA, LLC.

Returning members are: Dr. Arun Bhunia, Purdue University, Department of Food Science; Dr. David Gombas, United Fresh Produce Association; Dr. Larry Goodridge, McGill University; Dr. Scott Hood, General Mills, Inc.; Dr. Steven Ingham, Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection; Dr. Jeffery Kornacki, Kornacki Microbiology Solutions, Inc.; Dr. Robert Labudde, Least Cost Formulations, Ltd.; Dr. Richard Linton, North Carolina State University, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences; Dr. Guy Loneragan, West Texas A&M University, Department of Agricultural Science; Dr. Evelyn Mbandi, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Inspection Service; Dr. Peter Muriana, Oklahoma State University, Animal Science Department; Dr. Alison O’Brien, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences; Dr. Wilfredo Ocasio, The National Food Laboratory; Dr. Salina Parveen, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, Food Science and Technology; Dr. Ruth Petran, Ecolab, Inc.; Dr. Jennifer Quinlan, Drexel University, Department of Nutrition Sciences; Ms. Angela Ruple, U.S. Department of Commerce, National Seafood Inspection Laboratory; Dr. Stacey Schultz-Cherry, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital; Dr. Robert Seward, Seward Global Consulting; and Dr. Robert Tauxe, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Foodborne, Bacterial and Mycotic Diseases.

The Secretary of Agriculture appoints committee members following consultation with the Secretary of Health and Human Services. Appointees are scientists from academia, industry, other organizations, and Federal and State government. Committee members serve a two-year renewable term.

NACMCF serves the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Department of Commerce, and the U.S. Department of Defense. NACMCF meets twice annually, while subcommittees meet more often as necessary.

For more information, go to