Jimmie Cox Memorial Scholarship Award

Taylor Hillman General

Official Agri-Culture Logo CURRENT
Agri-Culture announced that Maya Capurro Frosch has been awarded its Jimmie Cox Memorial Scholarship for 2016. This scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in agriculture.

Maya is currently a senior year at Aptos High School. She is the team captain of both the Varsity Golf and Basketball teams. She has received the “Distinguished Student Award” for the Social Studies Department, and received the AP Scholar Award.
She was accepted into four different universities, and has selected California Polytechnic State University – San Luis Obispo, where she will be pursuing a career in Agricultural Business.

Agri-Culture President Steve Bontadelli stated, “We had a record number of applicants this year, we wish we could have given them all a scholarship.” Bontadelli further stated, “Maya is an outstanding individual. She is a well-rounded student. She will be a great addition to the agriculture community when he finishes college. ”

Starting in 2012, Agri-Culture announced a partnership with American AgCredit. The recipient of the Jimmie Cox Memorial Scholarship also receives an additional $2,000 award from the American AgCredit Scholarship Program. This brings the total scholarship amount that Matt will receive to $4,000.

The scholarship was presented at the National Ag Day Spring Luncheon held at the Heritage Hall at the Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds. This annual event is sponsored by the Santa Cruz County Farm Bureau and Agri-Culture.
For more information about the Jimmie Cox Memorial Scholarship, please contact Agri-Culture at 722-6622 or see the website at www.agri-culture.us